This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Global Warming Debate

Comments

• The fear of Global cooling wasn't that long ago.
  • Timo,
    I never know ifpeople like this are quacks.It's just way too complicated a subject to dip your toe into.
    Well, just looking at that guys wiki page gives you this:
    On the subject of Intelligent design, Spencer wrote in 2005, "Twenty years ago, as a PhD scientist, I intensely studied the evolution versus intelligent design controversy for about two years. And finally, despite my previous acceptance of evolutionary theory as 'fact,' I came to the realization that intelligent design, as a theory of origins, is no more religious, and no less scientific, than evolutionism. . . . In the scientific community, I am not alone. There are many fine books out there on the subject.
    You can draw your own conclusions from that, and the fact that he is listed as the member of various very conservative institutes such as the Heartland Institute the George C. Marshall Institute.
    If man is not responsible for climate change than how can we believe man has the power to reverse said changes? This is the very argument being made!
    Dude, man has all the power to change the climate, e.g. this TED talk gives one example of a very cheap and efficient way. The problem is that with those kind of ideas there likely will be serious side effects to the Ozone layer, which is why the general consensus is to first try something that may be more difficult (like carbon sequestration, CO2 emissions cuts etc etc) but will not give everyone on earth skin cancer.