This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Pwn

How do you pronounce this? I've heard it pronounced as "pawn", "pone", "poon", and "own". I personally switch off. But I do preferr "pawn" because that was what I first used. I know "own" and "pone" are supposedly the *right* ways to say it but I have my reasons. So what about you?

Comments

• RymRym
    edited March 2006
    Actually, I'd never heard anyone say it as "pone" until recently. I go with somthing like "poon," only the "oo" part is as short as possible. I've said it that way since I was a sophomore in high school.
    Post edited by Rym on
  • I have always herd it pronounced "pone". The thinking is that some goober (yes I said goober) mistyped "own" but instead typed "pwn".
  • Yeah. It seems that this word and all its iterations may have been "discovered" simultaneously in different places.

I recall the exact origin of the word in my sphere of the internet. There was a fairly big game of MegaTF going on, and a well-known and good player typed "I pwned you" instead of "I owned you." Being the young proto-humans that we all were, we parroted it back at him for weeks, until eventually it became a word in its own right.

We didn't pronounce it like "own," since the o was missing. I suppose we just said the three letters, p-w-n, as best we could. Since w can substitute as a vowel in many western languages, it worked as something similar to "poon."
  • I, and many of my friends, have said 'pone' simply becuase pone sounds and awful like own and the word connection works better with sounds than gramatical concepts....if that makes any sense.
  • I pronounce pwn own becaus that's how they pronounce it on Pure Pwnage. Awesome.
  • It would be interesting to see if "geek speak" is gaining dialects or accents.

We ususally say it like "pone."
  • Get ya'self an epic car nub!