This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

A college ignores the constitution

edited December 2007 in Politics
Check out this article about a Minnesota college that turned a "meditation room" into a mosque.

I have no problem with giving students space to pray. But supporting something that is overtly sexist and anti-semitic is just unconscionable. The college actually constructed a divider to keep women separated from men. Unbelievable.

Comments

• I'm curious about the college president's motivation. I'm also wondering why a community college is using public funds for any kind of non-curriculum religious expenditures.
  • I suspect that the president is simply scared of the Muslims. After all, what other religion has been able to censor political cartoonists? There is a segment of the Muslim population that uses threats and violence to get what they want, regardless of what the constitution says. I have no knowledge that this was the climate on the campus, but I suspect the president was too afraid to find out.
  • Hmmm, anyone can use the Meditation room... Hmmm, where are the non-Muslim students making religious meetings there? Where are the hippies smoking there during prayer times? Where are the pirates praising the Flying Spaghetti Monster once a week there? That'd be something I'd try to do.
  • Look what happened to the poor female student that decided to enter the "male" side of the room.
  • Look what happened to the poor female student that decided to enter the "male" side of the room.
    Hence why I was talking about groups. Armed with the dean's quote that it "is open to everyone." I mean, what the heck can those Muslim students do then?
  • Here is a serious question.

Why don't feminists take a stand against the radical Muslims? If we fought apartheid, why don't we take the same position for women's rights? I can accept cultural differences, but denying women basic human rights just goes too far.