This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Windows Vista ISO

edited May 2006 in Everything Else
Does anybody have a copy of Vista, at all? I've tried downloading several of them through bit torrent, but they don't work.

On the Microsoft site, you can only get them if you're an MSDN subscriber.I've registered for the beta testing, and MS says it'll ship beta 2 out fairly soon. However, I don't think they'll ship it to me. I'm a student after all.

Comments

• You really don't want to try and pirate Vista. Microsoft is implementing fairly severe authenticity checking, and I highly doubt it will be easy or worthwhile to do so.
  • And here are the hardware Reqs:

Minimum Requirements (Vista-Capable PCs):

* 800 MHz Intel-compatible processor
    * 512MB of RAM
    * DirectX 9.0-Capable Graphics Processor
    * 20GB HD

Recommended Requirements (Premium-Ready PCs):

* 1 GHz Intel-compatible processor
    * 1GB RAM
    * DirectX 9.0-Capable Graphics Processor, with 128MB graphics memory. (64MB of graphics memory to support a single monitor less than 1,310,720 pixels [no more than 1440x900]; 128MB of graphics memory to support a single monitor at resolutions from 1,310,720 to 2,304,000 pixels [no more than 1920x1200]; 256MB of graphics memory to support a single monitor at resolutions higher than 2,304,000 pixels [more than 1920x1200]).
    * 40GB HD with at least 15GB "free space"
  • I work in a sysadmin's office, and our Windows guy got a copy of the first beta. Of course, we all crowded around to watch once he had it installed (out of horrified fascination if nothing else).

The thing that struck me most was that, once you turned off all the transparency and graphical fluff, it looked and behaved exactly like Windows XP.

Except for the crippling DRM and ridiculous system requirements, of course.