This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Planetside

RymRym
edited June 2006 in Video Games
A little while back Scott reviewed Planetside. Well, our resident Planetside player recorded a nice rebuttal that you'll probably hear next Tuesday. Just a heads up. ^_^

We would have had it today, but we never actually set up a trivial way for people to send us large files. Some sort of server will be forthcoming for future audio submissions.

Comments

• Actually, I just started playing Planetside, just to see how much Scott exaggerated the flaws of the game.

I've only just started, but I can say that the wait times are pretty standard for changing maps. 3~4 min in total from when I open the PS shortcut to when I'm able to move about. To qualify this, I have 512 MB of RAM, I have Steam, Skype, Gaim, and AVG running in the background.
  • For me, the times were more like 10 minutes. But even 3-4 minutes is a century. Heck, 30 seconds is too long. 10 seconds is about as long as I'm willing to tolerate. Bomberman DS is almost intolerable with its unskippable intro movie.
  • Then what about the load times for maps in games like CS, DoD, and Natural Selection? Those also take up to about a minute.
  • A minute? The only time I have long load times for Half-Life 1 based games is if there are files to download from the server. Half-Life 2 has some loading time issues, but they make it less annoying. What they do is have short loading times every so often throughout the game instead of an intolerably long loading time at the beginning. It's actually good because it provides a much needed break from long play sessions. I'll have to get my stopwatch when I get home.
  • Also keep in mind that the load time in the beginning is the program itself starting up as well. Admittedly, it could be faster, but I haven't done any testing to see if the slowness is due to the program itself, or because of limited system resources.