This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Banning sex offenders from associations

edited June 2008 in Everything Else
Lawyers, can you point me in the right direction?

A homeowners' association in my area recently amended its restrictions filing with the county recorder to say that sex offenders can't own property or reside within the boundaries of the association. Is this legal? It would be my understanding that this would violate the Fair Housing Act, but I'm no expert. I know sex offenders have been legally barred from living or purchasing property within a certain distance of schools.

Comments

• HOAs need to be eliminated. Under no circumstances should there be any governing body with the power to restrict your freedoms, even a democratically structured governing body, other than the actual US federal, state, or local government itself. If I buy a house, it's mine. If an HOA wants to tell me what I can and can not do with and on my own property, they can shove it. If an HOA wants to govern a set of houses, they should at least own a portion of each piece of property, provide services like lawn mowing, etc. like condominiums do.
  • A homeowners' association in my area
    Oh god.
  • Thats so stupid, not every sex offender is a child molester.
  • If they are not safe to be out of jail why are they out of jail? If the person is still a danger to society they should be in jail or some other kind of lock-up.
  • Lawyers, can you point me in the right direction?
    A homeowners' association in my area recently amended its restrictions filing with the county recorder to say that sex offenders can't own property or reside within the boundaries of the association. Is this legal? It would be my understanding that this would violate the Fair Housing Act, but I'm no expert. I know sex offenders have been legally barred from living or purchasing property within a certain distance of schools.