This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Get on the Natural Selection boat

Comments

• how much ram does it need?
    RAM for the server, or game?
  • how much ram does it need?
    RAM for the server, or game?
    For teh server. Whatever, it just threw it on my Windows 2003 VM, it's got 512 of ram and 512 of swap. If it needs more I've got 4GB in the machine.

• For teh server. Whatever, it just threw it on my Windows 2003 VM, it's got 512 of ram and 512 of swap. If it needs more I've got 4GB in the machine.
    I think that should work, I am no server expert though. Keep us updated.
  • edited November 2008
    I'll try your server to see if it works tomorrow. Really, NS is Half-Life 1. It doesn't require anything fancy. You can easily run a server on a 5 years old machine. The problem is getting a static IP, and getting the right ports forwarded if necessary. However, running it in a VM is a very bad idea. It might work, but it will have problems. A server for a real-time fast paced game like NS needs to run directly on a real CPU.
    Post edited by Apreche on
  • edited November 2008
    My cable connection has a static IP (or so I've been told). I've got a Pentium 4 box with 700-some-odd megs of ram that's not being use with anything right now. I'll install Windows on it and see what happens in terms of getting an NS server running on it.
    Post edited by Victor Frost on
  • My cable connection has a static IP (or so I've been told). I've got a Pentium 4 box with 700-some-odd megs of ram that's not being use with anything right now. I'll install Windows on it and see what happens in terms of getting an NS server running on it.
    A Linux Steam server is better.