This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Computer Setup for College

edited May 2009 in Everything Else
I was going to get a Macbook for college, but some people pointed out that I could just get a Netbook for taking notes in class and have a desktop in my dorm room.

I'm studying computer science. Will I need CPU/GFX power (I'm not actually much of a hard core gamer) for college work?

Anyone have experience with this kind of stuff?

Comments

• I was going to get a Macbook for college, but some people pointed out that I could just get a Netbook for taking notes in class and have a desktop in my dorm room.
    I was just about to post something about just using paper and a pen for notes in class but then noticed you are doing computer science. Although if it is just straight forward lectures, paper and pen is always the best bet for taking notes at uni.
  • edited May 2009
    1) College == never knowing where you're going to spend the evening (at least if you're doing it right) -> don't buy anything heavy or expensive.

2) Back things the fuck up. Not only to your desktop/usb drive. Use the Colleges network storage if that's not crappy/limited. Get something like JungleDisk, it's cheap.

3) Take notes on paper. Seriously. Course material will be available in electronic form anyways.

4) You won't need CPU power, so spend your money on two big monitors. Screen real estate, when doing actual work on code, is essential.
    Post edited by Dr. Timo on
  • I haven't taken any notes with paper and pen throughout my entire 12th grade year, but I guess that was possible since I had a tablet PC..

I guess paper and pen will be the best bet for math, physics, and those kinds of stuff but I'm pretty sure I'll want to take notes on my laptop most of the time if I can. Heck this year I even scanned all the printouts my teacher gave me and pasted them into my notes on the tablet.