This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Your Perfect Office

edited October 2009 in Everything Else
I have only been active on the forum for a few weeks now, so it's possible that this has been discussed over the years, but I didn't see any definitive topic on it. So, I work as a software engineer for a big aerospace company (being in the Seattle area, you can probably guess which one), and as such I am entrenched in the typical "corporate America" cubical office system. Unlike most of my co-workers, who have worked here their whole careers, I have had the fortune of working for four small to mid-size businesses previously, all part-time jobs and internships during high school and college. Going from those environments to a huge company has left a lot to be desired.

As such, I occasionally think of things that I miss from previous jobs or would like to see in a future job (possibly my own business, which is my ultimate goal). To get this thread started, here are few things I want in an office (or company).

1) A nap room - One of my not-so-finest moments involved getting fired from an internship for sleeping on the job. I didn't feel too bad about it, since I made a big mistake in accepting the job in the first place, but it was still frustrating to me since it's something that I can't always help. I know there are a lot of people, perhaps a majority of people, who get tired at work. Coffee is not a cure-all solution. So, whenever I'm feeling sluggish and caffeine fails to get me into gear, I would love to have a closed off room with a cot to just take a short nap. This can also help for people who get headaches from working and just need a break to get rid of it. Easier to do that than take the rest of the day off.