This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Your Finest Accomplishments 2009

edited December 2009 in Everything Else
With the end of the year coming in just a few weeks, people tend to reminisce about what happened during the year. I want to do that too, and I think it is most fulfilling to look back on what I've done personally to advance myself. I guess you can think of this thread as a "booh yah of the year" for yourself. It might be a good way to be openly proud of something you did this year that others might not know about. So, being the starter of the thread, I will go first.

1) Getting a kick ass job during the immediate fall out from last year

This was really one of those "perfect time, perfect place" kind of deals. I graduated college in spring '08, and was set to help form a new startup out of the gate, but just a few months into it the whole thing fell apart, leaving me with nothing. After doing part-time game testing for several months, I was applying to various jobs in the area, and kept getting shut down at the phone screen. One place did finally give me a face-to-face interview, but that also didn't pan out. And then in January of this year, I got word back on a job I'd applied to months before, and they completely skipped the phone screen straight to the interview. I went in, completely rocked it, and got the offer the very next day, a much better offer than I ever expected to get as a new grad. So that is my #1.

2) Started and finished a novel