This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Choosing a College

edited February 2010 in Suggestions
It's been ages since I've actually engaged in any conversation on the forum, but I figured I could use some help here.

I've been accepted into 4 of the 5 colleges I applied to. Those schools are:
Georgia Tech
University of Florida
Drexel University
Florida State University
I'm still waiting for Carnegie Mellon's decision.

Now, I'm a resident of Florida and going to school in-state would be absolutely free. The problem is that I'm very poor and want to major in Computer Science. Because of my fiscal situation, I've got to pick the best school for CS for the best money. I've looked into all of these schools and if money weren't an problem, I'd go to CMU with Ga Tech as a close second. I've looked into the CS program at UF and it looks rather legitimate. They offer a BS in CS and the curriculum is solid as far as I can tell. I'm just not sure how a potential employer would view a degree from there.

Should I go to a techy school and graduate with significant debt or stay at home and graduate with excess money and a degree from a not traditionally tech-oriented school?

Comments

• edited February 2010
    Should I go to a techy school and graduate with significant debt or stay at home and graduate with excess money and a degree from a not traditionally tech-oriented school?
    How good are you? And what's your goal. Assuming you want a job, it will not matter what school you attended if you're good. And by good I mean that you contribute to a OSS project, write a game engine, start an internet startup (cheesy but will get you props), etc. etc.

If you want to do actual computer science then being at a good school matters much more, but only in the sense that you will have more direct and easier access to good teachers / research groups.