This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Nintendo 3DS

Comments

• I've had no experience with any of those games. Does one need to have knowledge of the Persona stories to understand this game?
  • Not at all, but if you don't have the connection to the characters you're better off playing Etrian Odyssey IV instead.

Besides that, I find the Persona Games fantastic. If you do plan to play those I'd recommend starting with 3, as playing 4 will spoil some of the more aged mechanics of 3.
  • Everything you need to know about Persona games:
  • Haha, yeah, alright. I don't even need to click that. I've watched it too many times. I wish they'd made more.
  • The ending was the best.
  • So you don't have to start with Shin Megami Tensei on the Super Famicom and work your way up from there?
  • edited November 2014
    I don't know that any SMT game is connected to another one. The various facets of the series just have sorta different play mechanics and they all have the same weird ass Pokemon. I liked Persona 4 even though I didn't beat it. They're a bit grindy and somewhat rely on you having certain Pokemans for certain battles.

Persona Q will probably want you to know the characters and events at least. Also Etrian Odyssey like regularly goes on sale on the Nintendo Store, I would just buy that game.
    Post edited by MATATAT on
  • Matt said:

So you don't have to start with Shin Megami Tensei on the Super Famicom and work your way up from there?

No no no. You start with the original Megami Tensei games. You are allowed to play the snes remakes if you are a baby and can't handle the raw nes action.

Reading the books those games are based on is also recommended, to properly get the backstory.

• edited November 2014