This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

SOAP and Web Services

RymRym
edited May 2010 in Technology
So, I'm an IT guy, not CS. I write code, but I am by no means a coder. My work is mostly in scripting, infrastructure, planning, logistics, etc...

For SOAP web services (WSDLs and all that), what platforms do you proper CS guys prefer? I basically just need to expose some server-side functionality to an application that has no other interface than this. (Otherwise, I would have used simpler means). I'm using ZSI in python right now, and it works well enough, but it's hardly robust, and most of the documentation I've found is fairly dated.

I'm not beholden to Python: that was just the quickest way to get an interface up for my developers to start testing with. Should I use .NET or Java? The latter, at least, seems to have a more well documented suite for this sort of thing.

Comments

• I've never made a SOAP web service from the server side, but I have done non-SOAP on the server. From the client side I have used Ruby, PHP, Python, you name it.

Surprisingly enough, the easiest time I ever had with SOAP was when the server side was .NET and the client side was PHP. All I had to do was create a SoapClient and pass it the WSDL. After that it "just worked". The SoapClient object provided all the API calls in the WSDL, and they all worked. I had to do some processing on the output, of course, but that's what glue programming is all about.