This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Product Reviews

edited May 2010 in Everything Else
Does anyone here leave product reviews on sites like Amazon or Newegg?

I realized that I always look at the reviews on these sites, and trust them quite a bit. I think it's mostly because they don't steer me wrong. Here is a short list from memory of products that are amazing which I purchased because of the influence of a review on Newegg/Amazon

Xporter USB sticks (fastest out there)
Calphalon Commercial pans (amazing)
Zojirushi Micon 3 cup rice cooker (amazing)
Whatever optical disc drive I got in the HTPC (so quiet)

It mostly helps when I'm trying to buy a product in a category that I am not an expert in if there is a pile of expert opinions I can trust. And by expert I mean someone who has used or owns the product.

So I decided today to go back and write a bunch of quick reviews of things I bought, to help the next guy. Most of the time I was just adding my voice to the choir. Do I really need to add another 5 star rating to something that has over 100 already? But in my reviews I tried to point out the tricky things and quirks that otherwise might not be noted elsewhere, or that people might not realize. Of course, only people like myself will even care about such quirks, but good to get the word out there.

One other interesting thing I noted is this special feature Amazon seems to have added recently. Because I was reviewing a product I purchased on Amazon, they put a special flag on my review that verifies to the world that yes I actually bought this, so my review is for reals. That's pretty smart. Surprised that it's so new.

Comments

• I do every once in a while. But, like you said, I usually don't if I'm just echoing what everyone else has said or don't feel like I have anything new to add.
  • edited May 2010
    Whatever optical disc drive I got in the HTPC (so quiet)