This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

How Do I Properly Write Documentation?

edited September 2010 in Technology
I've recently come up with a method of combining multiple Symantec Ghost Boot systems into one multi-boot USB key. I've been asked by my co-workers/bosses to write up documentation on the process so that they can duplicate it if necessary (read: if they decide to fire me in the future). I've never written documentation before, so I was wondering if you guys would have any tips or examples I could look at for reference.

Remember some documentation I've read in the past and, based on what I can remember, here's what I've got so far:
Subject: How to Create a Multiboot USB drive for Norton Ghost on Windows 7
Author: Victor Cyrus Khaze
Date: 09/29/2010

Introduction:
This guide aims to provide a comprehesive, step-by-step, guide to creating a USB drive capable of booting multiple different driver versions of the Symantec Ghost Network Client.

Software Needed:
HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool (http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=197)
Windows 98 MS-DOS Boot Files (http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=196)
Syslinux (http://syslinux.zytor.com)
Symantec Ghost Boot Wizard (part of Symantec Ghost Solution Suite)

Comments

• You basically just write instructions. Pretend you are writing a FAQ to a video game. Just like that. If you need more help, go look at documentation on open source projects that have good documentation. Here are some examples.

http://docs.python.org/
    http://www.postgresql.org/docs/9.0/static/index.html