This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

del.icio.us is dead

edited December 2010 in Technology
So Yahoo! is killing delicious. I'm already past shit-talking and working on a replacement. I'll move development to GitHub soon.

There are plenty of delicious alternatives out there, but mine is going to be different. The key difference is that it will be much like laconica/identica aka status.net. The idea is that it's open source and you can run your own personal delicious clone instead of using someone else's. Here's a list of features/ideas/todos. What I really need help with is picking a name for the application. Also need help with Chrome/Firefox Extensions and bookmarket because I've never done those before.

* basic delicious features like tagging, private links, rss, but not extra pointless features like friends/inbox.
* import from html exported from delicious
* chrome/firefox extensions and bookmarklet
* yubikey login
* openid/facebook/twitter/other login maybe
* automatic/manual reposting of links to your facebook/twitter
* automatic/manual forwarding of links to link aggregators (reddit/digg/etc.)
* make it so that you can run your own aggregator that people can forward links to and vote on and such.
* url shortenization integration/support
* search

Comments

• And nothing of value was lost.
  • Ok, thinking of calling it tasty or yummy.
  • Really? Is this what you make when you say you have stuff to do? Sweet!
  • Really? Is this what you make when you say you have stuff to do? Sweet!
    No, it's something that's so simple to make that it takes almost no time.
  • Never really used del.icio.us. I just use Twitter and Facebook to share links, and I don't really need "bookmarking."
  • Depending on the functionality of what you're creating, Scott, I may be into this. I'd need to see the actual implementation of your ideas, but this could fit perfectly into my browsing lifestyle.