This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

LULZ Playstation

13»

Comments

lolreddit.
    Will the inevitable class action lawsuit be big enough to really hurt Sony? We know Nintendo is making a move soon. I'm pretty sure Microsoft is also looking to the next gen in 2 yearsish.

SONY? In the words of Mario: This alooka nota so good!
    It's a bit soon to be declaring this the Hokutou Zankai Ken that kills Sony, or even Sony's gaming divisions. I also think that what you're going to see is Microsoft and Nintendo do nice, long audits of their internal security.
  • Will the inevitable class action lawsuit be big enough to really hurt Sony? We know Nintendo is making a move soon. I'm pretty sure Microsoft is also looking to the next gen in 2 yearsish.
    I personally doubt it. Most of the lawsuits incoming will be frivolous and thrown out. Any lawsuit worth anything will be settled out of court for a lump sum. As I am not a lawyer, I have no idea what you could really sue over. Are there laws that require certain kinds of data to be encrypted or secured beyond certain layers of protection? And if they follow those laws, is it really against them that someone else got through those standards?

What I think Sony should do, is they should actually wait a couple years after the other two release their next gen offerings. At the rate technology progresses, they could wait a couple years and have a system either far more powerful or equally as powerful for much cheaper, and it would be after the initial wave of hype for the others dies down. Also, the extra time will allow them to, hopefully, not fuck up so badly.
  • "Confirmation that all credit card numbers were stored in an encrypted format and that there is no evidence that data was taken."
    Damn you Sony!
    You release this minutes after I canceled my credit card! :O
  • Damn you Sony!