This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Web programming for programmers who aren't web programmers

edited June 2011 in Technology
So I'm thinking about learning some web programming stuff just for the heck of it -- partly to just branch out my overall programming expertise and partly to help my wife out when she works on web designs (she's a graphic/web designer, not a programmer). However, I am a systems programmer, not a web programmer. Most of what I work on is lower-level stuff in C and C++ (with a little bit of Java on occasion) and, in general, once you install the software I write you will only notice it's there when it's not working and it tends to be background server stuff.

Anyway, learning the languages typically used for web programming isn't an issue -- I'm already reasonably comfortable with Python and can pick up JavaScript (probably with a good browser abstraction library like Jquery or something), PHP, or whatever other languages I need to know without too much difficulty. I'm also pretty handy at setting up a basic Linux server and can also pick up anything else I need to know for a non-stock web server installation without that much difficulty either.

What I'm mostly interested in is a guide to what to do and what not to do for the beginning web programmer -- best practices, things to avoid, tips for avoiding potential security issues, and so on. Ideally, I'd want something aimed at someone who already knows programming. Any recommendations or pearls of wisdom from your own experiences?

Comments

• Basically all you do is write a program that takes an HTTP request as input and returns an HTTP response as output.

The only two major security things to watch out for are injection attacks and cross site scripting/request forgeries.