This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

On Being a Good DM

Comments

• Scott, I think that assigning game designers perfect knowledge of what makes a game good is essentially assuming special knowledge. I've been GMing games for about eight years now and there were times where I was running upwards of three games a week in three different systems. Having seen the other side of the curtain as part of a commission recently, I can assure you that game designers of your average RPG have no idea what they are doing and have not as much as thought through the mathematical consequences of their rules or hashed out averages.

There are game designers that are good and have done that work. Unfortunately they tend to make games in very specific ways or with very narrow focuses, so when the players want a certain kind of game you have to grab the system that best appeals to that. Most players are not you and don't value the mechanics of the system above everything; my players come in and say they want to play around in the Warhammer 40,000 universe, so Dark Heresy comes out because that's what there is, even though that system is not optimal.

As a GM, I know why that system is sub-optimal, but I also know that my players want the trappings that come with it. So yes, I do fudge things. At the start of the game I tell everyone that, okay, this rule is not happening because it's broken and caused us misery last game. You could argue that I'm not playing Dark Heresy anymore and I've ruined the purity of the system or whatever the fuck, but I don't care. Roleplaying games are not a competitive test of skill. The rules are there to provide structure to the story and keep everyone grounded. In situations where the rules are hindering that goal rather than helping it, the rules can go into the fuck-off bin until we're running smoothly again.