This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Toriko

edited June 2013 in Anime
So I've finally been catching up on Toriko. I was sort of lukewarm to it at first; the fights didn't seem particularly well-done and the story didn't seem particularly interesting, but here I am 55 episodes later and I've developed a 'taste' for Toriko's 'flavor'. The fights don't seem to drag anymore; I've gotten into the complex world and the novelty of pun-based exotic foods; an interesting dynamic has evolved between Toriko and Komatsu. Is anyone else following this one? What are your thoughts? Also, forgive me if this discussion topic isn't particularly well-written; it's my first time creating one.

Comments

• I read the manga and it's decent. It has some good humor with the food reactions (though it doesn't quite reach Yakitate! Japan levels) and the fights are at least interesting. If you can accept the ridiculous power creep that often happens in Shonen manga and which Toriko fully embraces, than its for you. And that comes from someone who doesn't like Jojo's Bizarre Adventure.
  • I read the manga and it's decent. It has some good humor with the food reactions (though it doesn't quite reach Yakitate! Japan levels) and the fights are at least interesting. If you can accept the ridiculous power creep that often happens in Shonen manga and which Toriko fully embraces, than its for you. And that comes from someone who doesn't like Jojo's Bizarre Adventure.
    I might not be as savvy as you. ^_^ What's a "Power creep?"

• edited June 2013