This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

GeekNights Monday - Google Glass First Look

Comments

• Sounds like an overly complicated routine for next to no value. Why not just continue using your earbuds on your phone?
    Very poor interface and playback control, especially lock screen playback control.
    Both BeyondPod and Amazon Media Player handle this nicely and intuitively, plus amazon media player doesn't require an account so you can use it to just play local music if you desire.
    I am new to Android. I actually bought a Nexus 4 just b/c of Glass (if I'm already spending $1500, I might as well switch and get full value), so thank you for the tip! Will check it out. All of my music is synched up to Google Play but I guess I would do it all over for a better interface w/ Amazon, or move local songs over for something like BeyondPod.

No Problem, ignore Google Play since they have one fatal flaw, custom tags are not recognized. If you are someone like me who has most of their collection from bandcamp musicians this is a HUGE problem.

Also a nice perk is that if I were to come over to your house and log into my account, I can then download all the music to your computer without DRM.
  • If I play a podcast in beyond pod, then sync it with my computer will the podcast play on my PC at the point where I left off on the phone?
    I have tried a ton of android podcast managers (doggcatcher, pocketcasts, ...) and settled on beyondpod as well. As far as I have seen, all android podcast apps stay away from syncing to computers. The better ones offer cross device sync (http://www.beyondpod.mobi/android/help/CDSHelp.htm, http://www.shiftyjelly.com/android/pocketcastst) though so your podcasts automatically sync position between your phone/tablet/whatever else you can run the app on.

Who even listens to podcasts at their computer? I listen exclusively while walking or traveling.
  • edited August 2013