This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Scooter says hello.

edited January 2006 in Everything Else
Hi all! I just wanted to intro myself. I'm a fairly new listener and I'm working thru the archives. My job involves the occasional travel so its nice to have something that keeps my brain busy to listen to on my MP3 player...which isn't really so much an MP3 player, but it works. :) Scott and Rym's constant nagging to hit the forum moved me to come by and say hi.

About me: I'm a geek of many interests. Those interests don't really include anime BUT I enjoy some of the conversations about it on the show. Mainly I'm into beer brewing, computer games, reading, martial arts, gadgets, board games, pipes and cigars, single malt scotch, role-playing games, and kilts.

I'm married and have 2 great kids thus my gaming time is minimized but still existant.

I am a professional geek. I work for a company that creates and maintains networks for both general business and restraunt point-of-sale systems. Oh, speaking of which. If you live in central OK and you are looking for a tech job, let me know. We need another tech BAD.

Comments

• Martial arts, eh?
    Any specific application or style of martial arts, such as various weapons or bare-handed styles?
  • Hi Katsu,

I've taken Karate, TKD (forgive me, it was cheap and a friend ran the school), Kali, and hungar kung fu. My fav was Kali. That was way fun and very practical. It was my only real venture into weapons so I got pretty good with knives and sticks. How about you?
  • Katsu is the kendo master.
  • Kendo, iaido, taijutsu, and sabre fencing. I know a bit of jo staff, took a few months of karate, and the general idea behind naginata. As you can see, I'm very much weapons oriented, but I don't see that as too much of a handicap.