This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Great anime shorts?

edited October 2008 in Anime
Hi, my name is Derek. I'm a long time listener, first time poster. I'm a student in England (Albion...), with some mates I have recently started running a weekly film screening at my university. Next week I am showing Grave of the Fireflies as a beginning step into anime for my fellow students. My argument being that an animated film can have just as much emotional impact as any live action film.

Before each screening there is half an hour to show short films. This is where I am struggling. Does anyone know any good animated short films (preferably Japanese) I could show? So far I'm considering showing a short called Requiem and perhaps a segment of the Animatrix. However this still leaves me plenty of time to fill. Cheers

Comments

• edited October 2008
    Hi, my name is Derek. I'm a long time listener, first time poster.
    Hello, Derek. Welcome to the forums!
    Next week I am showing Grave of the Fireflies as a beginning step into anime for my fellow students.
    When I first read this, I immediately thought to myself, "Why would you show something so depressing to get people into anime?!" Then I read your following sentence.
    My argument being that an animated film can have just as much emotional impact as any live action film.
    This may not be an anime, however Rym's Thing of the Day from 061113 - Hard Drives: Partitioning was an animated short called Kiwi. Everytime I watch this short, it makes me cry so much. I think it would be a good example of just animation in general having a lot of emotional impact on a person.

I'm trying to think of more things, however, there have been Things of the Day throughout the Geek Night's Archives that might help. I hope this helps, and I will try to post more if I can think of any.
    Post edited by Rochelle on