This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Racial profiling or not?

edited July 2009 in Politics
Is this racial profiling? If you side with the police, should the homeowner be excused to a certain degree due to his knowledge of a historical context of profiling?

Comments

• Broken link.
  • Doh! I'll post a fix in a second.
  • edited July 2009
    Fixed link. That's what I get for using Windows Explorer when I normally use Firefox. I also fixed the link above.
    Post edited by Kilarney on
  • First of all, some woman reported it. The police didn't just see some black guys at a nice house and decided to go arrest them. They were responding to a call about a possible break in... What were they supposed to do? I'm not an expert, but wouldn't they be in more trouble if they didn't respond to it and it actually was a break in?

Second of all, from what I've gathered from the article, he was arrested for being "difficult" and whatnot, not for actually being African American and breaking in to his own house. Now I wasn't there (obviously) but it seems that the home owner gave the cops trouble because he automatically assumed racial profiling. If I were in his situation, I would have produced the correct IDs and stuff right away, proven them wrong, and then complained.

However, unless he physically hurt them or threatened them or something, I don't think he should have been arrested for complaining about it, no matter how annoying.

On another note, I go to Georgia Tech, and our campus has been having a lot of armed robberies lately. A couple of students have even gotten shot. All suspects were described as tall African American males. I'm sorry if I offend anyone by saying this, but if I'm walking alone at night/early morning (which is hypothetical because I would never really do this), and I see someone fitting that description following me, I'm going to freak out and run or call the cops or something.