This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Is it Possible to play TableTop strategy games over the internet?

edited March 2007 in Board Games
I have been listening to your show for a few months now and decided to check out Table Top strategy games like the one you guys play.
Now i am hooked.
Only problem is if I want to play with people that are on my level or actually interested in the game i have to drive over 80 miles to find the nearest players.
Which really bites and is kind of hard to do considering i am a money strapped college student.

So here is what i was wondering:
1) Do you think it would be viable to setup (i.e. scan in the board and manual as well as photograph the game pieces) and then figure out an altered set of rules so instead of being played over a couple hours it probably be done over a few days?

2) Would any one be interested in doing this and helping setup?

3) What games would we play?

thanks for the input

Comments

• Some games have dedicated programs just for online play. Magic Realm is one of them.
  • You can't put tabletop games on the internet! The table would roll off the tubes.
  • They're doing some of them on the 360 as well, I think
  • Why, oh why, couldn't someone release a pc version of Fortress America? As far as I'm concerned, it's the best American board game. Trying to get a game of FA up is one of the hardest things to do in southeast Alabama. Not to mention expensive if you don't already have a copy...
  • Why, oh why, couldn't someone release a pc version of Fortress America? As far as I'm concerned, it's the best American board game. Trying to get a game of FA up is one of the hardest things to do in southeast Alabama. Not to mention expensive if you don't already have a copy...
    I played that once. I didn't like it very much.
  • edited April 2007