This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Free Software for Windows

edited March 2007 in Technology
I need some new software to pimp up my Windows XP.
However, I am a poor high school student who can't even get his monthly manga douse. Is there any free software, that I can use to replace Windows Media Player, mine updated it's self to the point where i can't even play stuff. Is there something out there that works as well as and similar to WMP and is free.

Plus, is there any good free or under 100 bucks software for 3-D imagining?

Is there any software to replace Microsoft office, but can be read and used in other people's MS office?

And finally, can I hack my XP, so that when I explore my hard drive, can I use FireFox instead?

I other words I'm mostly trying to get rid of most Microsoft based Software on my computer, and not getting rid of the Windows XP OS.

AND NO I WILL NOT INSTALL LINUX!!!!
I have so many programs that I would be better off by not installing Linux.
I do a lot of art work on my computer as well as programming.
I hope to switch to Mac in the near future.

Let Me know if there is anything I can do.

Comments

• What media formats do you need to be able to play?
  • All or at least your none DRM Stuff.
    Like AVI, MP3, MP4, MPG, WMV, Etc.
  • Have you tried (Video Lan Client) VLC?

Do a Google search for that one, I'm behind a firewall right now.
  • Yes, I do have it but it is very complicated even for a computer Geek like me.
  • I need some new software to pimp up my Windows XP.
    However, I am a poor high school student who can't even get his monthly manga douse. Is there any free software, that I can use to replace Windows Media Player, mine updated it's self to the point where i can't even play stuff. Is there something out there that works as well as and similar to WMP and is free.
    iTunes
    Plus, is there any good free or under 100 bucks software for 3-D imagining?