This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Satoshi Kon has died

RymRym
edited August 2010 in Anime
The sad word on the street is the Satoshi Kon has just died.

His words at the retrospective we attended in New York now ring in my ears. Something along the lines of "It's too soon in my career to honor me like this. Invite me back after I've had a full career: I'm just getting started."

Comments

• edited August 2010
    Only word so far is stuff on Twitter, albeit from fairly trustworthy industry people, but nothing official. Will be bummed if this ends up being true.
    Post edited by Sail on
  • If true, it's close to one of the worst things ever for anime.
  • This really, really blows.
  • Well fuck.
  • I really hope it isn't true.
  • 13 minutes old thread.
    Aren't you supposed to be working Rym? Regardless, waiting for more definite confirmation, unless you accept Takeda Yasuhiro as a trustworthy source.
  • 13 minutes old thread. Aren't you supposed to be working Rym? Regardless, waiting for more definite confirmation, unless you accept Takeda Yasuhiro as a trustworthy source.
    I'm positive that ANN will not post the story until they call Madhouse on the phone. That is how we will know.
  • I think that's all rumor... nobody legit is reporting this.
  • I think that's all rumor... nobody legit is reporting this.
    It has started with Japanese animators tweeting it.
  • edited August 2010
    One Japanese Animator does not make a reliable source. From what I can see everything is coming from that one tweet, which then spawned articles and wikipedia updates. So far no legitimate Japanese sites have come forth with the news.
    Post edited by Cremlian on
  • From what I can see everything is coming from that one tweet,
    It was the one tweet from the Gainax dude, but then Madhouse also mentioned that they had some very sad news about a director.
  • edited August 2010
    s have come forth with the news.