This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

No I really don't watch TV

edited August 2010 in Everything Else
Sunday my brother had to move back in with the parents. He offered to let me use his TV because he didn't have the room for it plus the parents have a huge plasma TV in the living room. I responded with I don't watch TV. He stared at me blankly and kind of just ignored what I had said. He asked again later that day. With well you play video games don't you? I play them on the computer I responded. I told him I would hold onto his TV. But I stated that I don't watch TV. Yesterday I got a call from Att to subscribe to there U-Verse (cable tv) service. I told the operator I don't watch TV. Got the same response. She paused then continued on to try and sell me the service. And I restated. I don't watch TV. I don't think she believed me or my brother either for that matter. Is it so hard for folks to believe other people just don't watch TV anymore?

Comments

• RymRym
    edited August 2010
    Is it so hard for folks to believe other people just don't watch TV anymore?
    Outside of our geeky circles, not watching TV is like not having a daemon in His Dark Materials. It's crazy, fringe behavior. Most people cannot fathom how one can be entertained or even function without access to broadcast television. In fact, many people will treat you just as strangely for having OTA TV, but no cable.

You're a crazy outlier.
    Post edited by Rym on
  • Yeah, even amongst my friends, who are all geeky in various ways, they can't understand how I don't have any TV broadcasting. I have a TV, cause I need something to hook my consoles up to, but any shows or movies I watch are through Netflix. The only real disadvantage I've found is that due to my not having TV broadcasts is that no one wants to come over and hang out. It's like they simply can't function without having something playing in the background.