This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Neptune's Pride

edited November 2010 in Video Games
http://np.ironhelmet.com/

It's like Master of Orion. Anyone want to play? It costs some galactic credits to start a game, but I will pay for it if enough people are into it and for serious.

Comments

• It looks interesting. I'd be willing to give it a go.
  • I'm game.
  • I'm willing to try it once.
  • I'd be up for it.
  • I'd much rather try to play something like Solium Infernum
  • I started a game called FRC Game

It should be free to join.

The password is warmtoday
  • I'll check it out.
  • I joined the game, but I'm not that good with games requesting strategic thinking. Still I'll try my best.
  • edited November 2010
    I joined the game, but I'm not that good with games requesting strategic thinking. Still I'll try my best.
    I've played a game (and a half) of it, and it's not very strategically deep insofar as the mechanics are concerned. Just build as many of the money making buildings as possible as fast as you can up until the point where you think you have enough of an advantage, and then just immediately switch to building as many unit making buildings as possible.

Here is the Neptune's Pride Battle Calculator so you can pre-calculate if you'll win a battle or not before you send ships (you could just do this in your head, but meh, this is easier).

The actual fun/strategic part is the diplomacy. You can make all sorts of bargains and such with other players, but none of it is enforced in the game itself, so betrayal is the name of the game. Deciding when to betray your allies (typically at the same point where you switch from all money buildings to all military buildings, they trade you a Tech expecting a fair trade in return, and you just dick them all at once) is probably the most important decision you'll make.
    Post edited by Xefas on
  • Joined as well. We'll see how this goes...