This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Weekend coding

edited November 2010 in Technology
Today I'm starting to write small programs in just a day, each weekend, and I'm currently dicking around with functions I've coppied out of a Python guide (The Computer Scientist one.), taking them and trying to get them to do something else. Something about the liniar reading through a book method is hard to stay focused on.

Total beginner question: I want to have a function take an input and then, once it's done it's thing, assign the output to a value. I'm also putting the function in a seperate file and importing it.

Focussing on the count_digits function.

NewTest.py
from UsefulFunctions import verttext,count_digits

string = "Strings are Stringy!"

verttext (string)

count_digits (5000)

print count

Usefulfunctions.py
def verttext (input):
index=0
while index < len(input):
print input[index]
index += 1

def count_digits (input):
count = 0
while input:
count = count + 1
input = input / 10
return count

Comments

• All you need to do is:
    num = count_digits(5000)

The value of the expression "count_digits(5000)" is precisely the value returned by the function.

Also, verttext could just be:
    for c in input: print c
  • "count = count_digits(5000)" Works!

I'll look at compacting code later.
  • I'm also learning a bit of coding. Can you link the guide you're using?
  • edited November 2010
    How to Think Like a Computer Scientist.

Another question: Is it better to use "print functionx (input)" than putting the print part inside the function (Relating to the verttext function.)? As I can see it becoming more versatyle that way.

Problem is, I then need to have it return the whole lot, so I'd need to add it all into a string or similar.
    Post edited by Omnutia on
  • edited November 2010