This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

New to Anime - looking for some good stuff

edited May 2007 in Anime
Well, I'm not NEW NEW to Anime - I'm just new to REAL anime. I was a Dragon Ball fan as a kid, and I watched a couple episodes of Bleach, and I'm wondering what kind of Anime I should check out. I know the podcasts have this yeah, but what's some really good stuff to start with? I keep pretending Anime is not for me, but this Geeknights non-stop talk of anime has me really jonesing for more.

Any decent suggestions?

Comments

• /sigh

Cowboy Bebop
  • Let me second that Cowboy Bebop and add

for giant mechs, psychodrama, and imanitizing the eschaton:
    RahXephon

for over the top comedy and fantasy adventure:
    Slayers

for worldbuilding, characters, and dogfights:
    Last Exile

For slice of life comedy:
    Azumanga Daioh
  • Trigun and Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex are two of my favorites.
  • Yeah, Bebop definitely.

Movie wise i'd say:
    Castle of Castaligro
    Princess Monoke
    Porco Rosso

What else....
    FLCL (but maybe after you watched some other stuff first)
    Tenchi Muyo!
    Samurai Champloo (once you finish Bebop)
  • I actually really disliked Last Exile. Especially character-wise. That's the one with the...pale people and the...flying things, yes?

Cowboy Bebop, Evangelion, and most of Miyazaki's older films are pretty much requisite viewing if you ever hope to be in "the loop". Throw in Trigun, Escaflowne and Utena as well since you'll want to be seeing them before Rym and Scott get around to doing spoiler-ful shows on 'em. You've got a fair while to do that by the sounds of it. All the new anime they're reviewing should keep them occupied for a while...