This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Complete noob, looking for anime 101

Comments

• edited April 2011
    You can handle FSS and Legend of the Galactic Heroes if you already read/watched a lot of Space Operas. I think it's the difference between knowing that anime is a valid medium for those stories when you start getting into it, or having to learn that anime is a valid medium for those stories.

If you cannot immediately accept that anime is as valid as film or the written word, start with Scott's suggestions. I'd also recommend Space Battleship Yamato and TTGL. I feel like TTGL is a good anime "hook;" the action starts immediately and develops into a good story without giving you time to get bored or ponder whether or not the series is worth your time. However, Ghibli, Akira, GitS, Bebop, etc. take precedence.

Do not watch Claymore. If you need an ultraviolent anime, Fist of the Northstar. Accept no substitutes for the Hokuto Hyakuretsu Ken.
    Post edited by WindUpBird on
  • @Apreche I know so many people who's first anime was FLCL. Baccano is definately noob friendly if they like Tarantino or Richie movies, and Moribito is just like Miyazaki but in TV format.
    Yeah, something is a first for everybody, and it may have worked, but they just beat the odds. That's like saying, yeah my friend bet on number 20 on a roulette table and won, so I bet on 20 every time! You just got lucky that one time. Don't take such crazy chances! Play it safe with the guaranteed awesome and accessible stuff before risking anything weird.

After the basics like the big movies from Miyazaki, Oshii, and Kon, the next step is to hit the sci-fi classics like Macross, Yamato, and Patlabor. They have a perfect mix of accessibility, nerdiness, and Japan-ness that make a good transition between a Cowboy Bebop and an Evangelion.