This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Complete noob, looking for anime 101

Comments

• edited April 2011
    Will I be attacked if I suggest Rurouni Kenshin? The first season of that show is one of the big kickers that pushed me into looking for other stuff.
    If you're going to do anything related to Kenshin, just watch either the movies or read the manga. The anime suffers from the same problems as almost every other Shonen Fighting shows. Also, reading the manga will give you a basic knowledge of the Warring States Period of Japan, which is some good knowledge to have when watching anime.
    Post edited by Li_Akahi on
  • The OVAs are a pretty good start into anime as well.
    Actually, yeah I think I might push this in front of the tv show. I remember watching that first OVA and then telling all my friends to come over to "see how violent this cartoon is!"
    Also, reading the manga will give you a basic knowledge of the Warring States Period of Japan, which is some good knowledge to have when watching anime.
    I was going to also recommend the manga, seeing as it was one of my first manga and I was reading it before I was watching the show, but I refrained since this is an anime topic. But I do think that if he's ever interested in the idea of it that he should definitely read it.
  • edited April 2011
    @Badtchboy: Here are my recommendations for an older-than-13-year-old new to anime:
    Shows:
    - Neon Genesis Evangelion
    - Vision of Escaflowne
    - Rurouni Kenshin (sorta long series)
    - Haibane Renmei
    - Big O
    - Revolutionary Girl Utenna
    - Cowboy Bebop
    - Record of Lodoss War (also a sorta long series)
    - Slayers (another sorta long series, and a teensy bit on the juvenile side)
    Original Video Animation (or OVA for short, they're short series):
    Read or Die (NOT THE TV SHOW)
    Rurouni Kenshin (sometimes tragically called Samurai X)
    Giant Robo
    Movies: