This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Computer Tutoring

edited November 2011 in Technology
Ok, so splitting this off from the other thread. Had first test run tutoring session thanks to Natakou2001. I think it went pretty well considering I have no tutoring experience whatsoever. Technology worked well, but it was just Skype and a shared terminal. Might have a harder time if we need a real shared desktop or shared whiteboard.

I learned quite a bit. Mostly that I need to have an actual lesson plan. Because I am so familiar with the tutorial I can mostly follow a logical progression from the bottom up, but it's hard to avoid tangents and it's easy to miss things. Also, Natakou is a pretty smart tech dude, so he didn't need to ask many questions. Then again, it was only for an hour, so I didn't make it to the more advanced topics. I also feel like the value of live personal tutoring is the interactivity and if it isn't interactive enough, the student might be better off with books or instructional videos. Then again, sometimes people just learn better talking to a real person. I know a live lecture works better on me than a video lecture, which I can sleep through.

If anyone else wants a free lesson on any technology in which I am very proficient, just send an email to apreche@frontrowcrew.com and we can schedule a time. I'm going to give one free lesson to anybody who wants one. If anyone likes it enough to continue, we can negotiate compensation on an individual basis. I see people charging between $25 and $120+ per hour for computer programming tutoring in NYC.