This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Beginner's guide to Board Games

edited July 2007 in Board Games
After listening to each week's board game episode I've finally decided to go along to a local group and check it out. I've never done any board gaming before and I was wondering if anyone had any advice, particularly with things like (unwritten) rules and expectations?

Comments

• 1. If you have breasts they will be stared at.
    2. That smell? It's unwashed maleness. Seriously, bring a can of Lysol with you!
    3. If you are female, you will be hit on.
  • RymRym
    edited July 2007
    There's only one real rule, at least if you were to join our own gaming group.
    -ahem-
    TAKE YOUR GOD DAMNED TURN!

In general, most boardgamers will actually go out of their way to teach you one of their favourite games and then play it with you.  Any possibly social awkwardness will be mostly cancelled by their desire to play.  Just be friendly and express interest, and you'll be almost immediately enter their inner circle.

Post edited by Rym on
  • Thanks for your advice. Honestly, I was probably most concerned with holding up gameplay while trying to remember all the rules but in light of the above I'll just give it my best shot and take my turn as quickly as possible.
  • edited August 2007
    Most gamers are usually excited to help bring others into the board gaming fold. Tell them what type of stuff you're interested in and they'll know what game to start you with. Or if there is a game they are passionate about, it might rub off on you and you'll enjoy yourself. There are some games that are great based on the people playing.
    Post edited by bodtchboy on
  • I was probably most concerned with holding up gameplay while trying to remember all the rules