This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Ask Rym & Scott - Monday Sci/Tech

Comments

• See, that really doesn't tell me anything. I think a bit more specific info would help me and maybe a few other folks who haven't ventured into the Linux world.
    Have you checked the "Getting into Linux" episode? Scrym has(?) already answered that question in an entire episode.
  • Okay, I'm not that good at descriptions or asking some things in a good way but here goes.

On my computer video doesn't play well. It lags badly or it's pink and orange. I tried a lots of media players, got codecs and googled the problem with no success.

Is it just the video card? Some other problem with my PC? Something I should install?

• On my computer video doesn't play well. It lags badly or it's pink and orange. I tried a lots of media players, got codecs and googled the problem with no success.

Is it just the video card? Some other problem with my PC? Something I should install?
    This is actually a really good question, but you wouldn't realize it.
  • Hey... question.

I heard you guys mention at the end of a show that getting your podcasts out are automatic -- a push of a button. I can see how scripts can work for most of this, but does that automation include audio editing? For example, removing long "ahhs" and "umms" or editing out parts? Or are you guys that good -- you don't do second takes? If the later is true, I'm pretty impressed since you guys always seem so prepared with each show -- no floundering and smooth.

Anyways...just wondering. Thanks.
  • What's the least expensive way to start and host a forum?
  • Would you guys recommend a Mac to other people? In what program on a computer do you prefer to listen to music or watch video in?