This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

All right, I'm a 5+ year veteran XBOX 360 user. It's the centerpiece of my entertainment stack

But I'm not sure I'm very happy about the things I've been hearing about the XBOX One. Primarily I'm not very happy about the integrated and mandatory Kinect, not just for the privacy concerns, mostly for the extra hundred bucks and the surety that the thing just isn't going to fucking work properly in my small and dark TV nook.

BUT.. I don't know a whole lot about Playstation except that I bought a PS3, didn't really like it, and sold it on CL at a loss 3 months later.. :( I appreciated the ad-free dashboard, but found the PS Store clunky and counterintuitive compared to the "new" XBOX dashboard and unified app interface, especially for streaming media. Netflix/Hulu/Amazon Video all work and look about the same and I'm comfortable with them... never tried them on PS3.

Which do I upgrade to? I'm leaning toward PS4 just to save $100... but that interface... that controller... meh.

Comments

• You know this already, but don't expect very much good advice here in a stronghold of the Glorious PC Master Race. For instance, I haven't been paying enough attention to the consoles to warrant anything close to an opinion. In fact, I lean towards "run cables from your PC" or "wait until Steam game streaming works and get a cheap set-top box."
  • edited January 2014
    When I find an HTPC solution that's "casual-proof" I'll be all over it, probably, but right now I still insist that such a beast doesn't exist.

I've never encountered an issue with my XBOX that wasn't fixed by power cycling it or replacing the core hardware for $200 (once in 6.. something years), either. Tech support isn't on the list of things I want to spend more than 10 minutes a year on for my living room component stack.
    Post edited by muppet on
  • Which systems has exclusives you want?
    Do you do any online gaming?