This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Weekend coding

Comments

• I did actually know about that kind of thing, but didn't know the terminology.
  • Apreche said:

Do you guys know how to use list comprehensions? I didn't know about them until using Python for over a year.

even_numbers = [x for x in range(0,100) if x % 2 == 0]

You can also do set and dict comprehensions.

Other cool stuff some people may not know about:
    - lambda expressions
    - generators and generator expressions
    - decorators
    - the "with" statement
    - comparison operators can be chained, e.g. 1 < x <= 4 translates the same way in Python that it does in maths.

There's probably more stuff that people might not know, but that's what comes to mind.
  • I love how every time I think "Man, there should be a language with that feature", it turns out Python has that feature.
  • Yeah... I mostly dabble in Python as I'm primarily a C/C++ programmer, but Python is my go-to language when I need to do any sort of scripting (I spent quite a bit of time writing a test suite for a feature of the C++ program I work on in Python -- works great). It's definitely always a nice surprise when I notice Python has a neat new feature that makes those scripts easier.

My main complaint with Python (and Scott knows about this) is that apparently its standard libraries are crap (at least according to Scott). If you want to find a library to do something, you're better off finding some third party library than using what ships with the language. This is pretty much the polar opposite of C/C++, where the standard libraries (or semi-standard ones, such as Boost) pretty much contain the best overall (though maybe not for specific use cases) implementations of those features out there.