This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Open Documentation and "Evil" Governments

edited June 2006 in Everything Else
Concerning your most recent show (June 26):

Somehow I doubt that utilizing Microsoft Office as a primary word processor is a conscious choice by governments to be evil.

Being a Mac user, I don't use Microsoft Office very much, but whenever I've encountered a Microsoft .doc file, I've had no trouble opening it through the two word processors that Apple offers (AppleWorks and TextEdit). Outside of that, I have no experience with other word processors. But is there really a problem with certain programs not being able to open .doc? I ask this because if there was a problem, I can see where Rym and Scott were coming from.

Sure, it may not look pristine - but the goal is to freely be able to access the information of governmental documents, not to look pretty.

And yes, open documentation is far better, but I'm wondering if you're just making mountains out of molehills.

One more thing: so if you don't use Microsoft Office, what other word professors are out there? Please enlighten me as personally, I love Word because I like the features it has and how nice I can make a document look in it. I use AppleWorks primarily, but it doesn't have that many options. Is there a good free for-Apple word processor?

Comments

• edited June 2006
    Yes, OpenOffice is a word processor, and they offer a mac app, and there is a there is a port to OS X called NeoOffice.
    Post edited by Ilmarinen on
  • The problem is that, while those programs can open the files, you can't create a fully compatible doc file without MS Office. Many government agencies will only accept electronic papers with specific parameters or formats, and will reject ones created with other programs that are a little off. No editor other than Office itself can create true docs, and any formatting beyond the most basic of text is a heady wildcard.