This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

The Burning Wheel?

RymRym
edited April 2008 in Role Playing Games
We've discussed The Burning Wheel a few times on the show, and we've even interviewed its creator. I have a simply question:

Are you playing it? Why or why not?

Comments

• A friend and I ordered the books for international shipping. They took a while to get here, but we got them about 2 weeks ago.
    I myself have never RPd, while my friend has played D&D, so we're trying to get a good understanding of TBW.
  • I run a campaign, converted from D&D to Burning Wheel, for a certain large group of friends. ^_^

Still waiting on an opportunity to actually play in a BW campaign myself, though.
  • First! (for I don't own the books and want to play) As to why, well... Along with anime and manga, board games and (tabletop) RPGs aren't that popular here in the Netherlands. And of course I'm a student with little monies.
  • My group is more interested in playing Dark Heresy, and I'm having a hard enough time convincing them to try CthuhluTech. Although I have the core books and would love to try the game, I'm not yet comfortable enough with the system to run it myself.
  • Still waiting on an opportunity to actually play in a BW campaign myself, though.
    Yeah, tell me about it... all run, no play.
  • I seem to play in a game of burning wheel and own the books.
  • I've bought the books for myself, as well as two copies for folks in my gaming group that I gave them for X-mas. They are still pumped for 4th edition to start, and I'm all meh.

Some of my other friends I've tried to play The Sword, but they really don't want to use pre-made characters after a bad experience with a previous GM.
  • I don't have the books, but I do want to play.