This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Some PC questions

edited September 2006 in Everything Else
I'm an electrical engineer and I know an awful lot about how the innards of a CPU work, but I find there are some pretty awful holes in my knowledge of how thing on the market actually work in practice and what new technologies are coming out. So there are some things I've sort of been wondering.

DDR vs DDR2 Am I wrong in thinking that there is very little practical difference between having a single stick of DDR2 RAM and two sticks of DDR RAM? The single DDR2 stick takes up a bit less space and uses somewhat less power, but should I the consumer consider a motherboard with two DDR2 -800 slots to be better than a motherboard with four DDR-400 slots if I'm not worried about the power consumption of my RAM?

AGP vs PCI-E. There are lots of cards for each that seem to have similar specs, but I'm given to understand that PCI-E allows a faster connection to the CPU or some such. How important is that from a practical perspective, or maybe I should ask how good a graphics card it would take for that connection to become a significant bottleneck? Or is that a matter of the game in question?

SATA vs PATA. Why the heck is a serial connection faster than a parallel one? I mean, if you can do things in parallel, why not do them in parallel? It seems odd to me.

Comments

• edited September 2006
    Unfortunately, sometimes the industry changes in ways that don't benefit the consumer, IMHO.

Wikipedia says this about DDR v DDR2