This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

PAX East 2014

Comments

• A little bit of distinction in price and distance. For instance, you can still grab the Hyatt at $180 and 1.3 miles away (I just directed a friend to book there), while much of the other hotels are $200+ and 3 miles away.

There's also the PAX Shuttle routes, which I have zero experience with, but may have better service for some hotels?
  • Lydia and I have to pass this year. Have fun everyone!
  • I grabbed a room at the Colonnade. I will upgrade BCEC-ward as rooms become available. :P
  • It is unlikely that rooms will become available.

I have the actual "pick up" numbers (percentage of people who do not cancel a block reservation before the con) for the PAX block at East. It was 92% for PAX East 2011, and 95% for PAX East 2012.

I expect it is even higher now. PAX people rarely give up reserved rooms.
  • I won't keep my hopes up, but last year I managed to "upgrade" to the Langham a month out from the convention without any difficulties. Didn't realize how much the pick up numbers were growing over time, though.
  • edited October 2013
    It is unlikely that rooms will become available.

I have the actual "pick up" numbers (percentage of people who do not cancel a block reservation before the con) for the PAX block at East. It was 92% for PAX East 2011, and 95% for PAX East 2012.

I expect it is even higher now. PAX people rarely give up reserved rooms.
    I AM THE 1%!

I make sure to get a room at Prime every year before that plan inevitably falls through. I've only been able to pull it off in 2010 and 2011 so far. ;) Somebody gets my lucky cancellation.

But yeah, don't think you're going to F5 all day waiting for a cancellation. With those "pick up" rates, your finger might fall off.

Post edited by Matt on
  • So...are plans for an FRC Forum Hotel Room on the table?