This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Ideas on Role Playing for beginner?

edited January 2007 in Role Playing Games
Any thoughts on how to try a role playing game for a total newbie?

I live in a very rural area, and there just aren't stores, etc. where I could meet other role-players. Besides, I'd like to try it out without getting involved in a serious group.

I saw this intriguing RPG:
1 on 1 Adventure: Gambler's Quest
It's specifically designed for 1 GM and 1 PC. I could try this with a friend to see what we think.
My only concern is that we'd both be sitting there completely lost. It says that it's for a Level 2-4 Rogue. I don't know anything about how to make characters, levels, etc. Would we be in over our heads?

How does one try an RPG without sitting at a table with creepy people wearing black trenchcoats?

Comments

• The trick to role-playing without scary people is to not play scary RPGs. If you play D+D you will get high school nerds. If you play Whitewolf, you will get scary people in black coats. If you try to get normal people to play Prime Time Adventures, InSpectres or Dogs in the Vineyard, they won't even associated it with RPGs like D+D. Another good strategy is to get people to play some games which are not RPGs, but can have a slight amount of role-playing incorporated. Some non-RPGs lend themselves well to some role-playing. Shadows over Camelot comes to mind. Illuminati also has some RP potential. If you try to RP in a non-RP game you can see which other players catch on and which just keep playing the normal game. Now you can take those people and ease them into some straight-up RPGs.