This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

HAM Radio

edited January 2007 in Everything Else
I am currently studying to take the test for my Ham radio Technician class license. I was wondering if anyone else on here was a ham, and what they thought of it.

Comments

• I've always been intrigued by Ham radio. When I was a kid I was a short-wave radio junkie. I also knew a couple of people that had their Ham license. However, while I liked the concept, it never really appealed to me enough to take the plunge.

The biggest negative to me was the thought of sitting there talking to other people. While this sounds really cool in theory, the conversations that I did hear tended to be rather pointless. It also seemed to be one of those hobbies that many people got into, but then stalled out.

The other downside is the internet. Ham radio reached its peak when telephone calls or Telex were the only way to communicate overseas. Back then, when AT&T had a monopoly, it was an incredibly expensive proposition to make an overseas telephone call. Now we have email, Skype, etc. A lot of people have left Ham because of this. True, there is the emergency role - but that never really appealed to me. I just don't live in an area that is prone to emergencies.

The one aspect that appeals to me is chasing QSL cards. I think it's pretty cool to see how many places you can connect with, and just how far away those places are.

I respect anyone who does decide to get into Ham - and it's nice to see that the license requirements have been eased. I hope you enjoy it, and that you give us updates on your progress.
  • Will do. You're right, it does seem easy to fade out of. I'm planning on doing some weather-spotting with it. I live near a highschool stadium which looks like a great place to spot and such.