This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Electronic Voting Machines

edited March 2007 in Everything Else
I'm a Polling Inspector in San Bernardino County, CA and enjoyed your discussion on electronic voting machines very much. (We use Sequoia machines.)

Rym is correct in saying that government is their only client. I can't see any long-term profit for these companies unless they charge for service contracts.

I spoke with our County Registrar when we first got our machines. I can't remember if she said the county bought 2,000 machines at $4,000 each or 4,000 machines at $2,000 each.

We just elected a new Registrar in California. She is very much against electronic voting as it is currently being conducted, as am I. I'll be curious to see if the counties (taxpayers) end up eating the cost of all of the electronic equipment they have purchased in the last couple of years.

Ironically, most of the money allocated by the feds under the "Help America Vote Act" after the 2000 debacle has yet to be distributed to the states. Another problem with election standards and costs is that there is no uniform set of guidelines for conducting elections. Each state is free to set their own standards. The opportunities for bribery abound!

This is probably much more info than 99% of the folks here want to know, but I thought I'd bring it up as an FYI.

Comments

• Hey! Someone from my neck of the woods!

Thanks for the insight.
  • Hi Sail.

Whereabouts do you hail from? Nice to know the IE is being represented.
  • edited March 2007
    I live in the South Bay area of LA County.
    Post edited by Sail on
  • Still don't get why you crazy Americans can't just use paper and pencil.
  • The reason is Florida.
  • Actually, Florida didn't use paper and pencil in the 2000 election. They used punch card machines.