This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

IDEs vs Text Editors

edited June 2007 in Technology
Quick question. In my simplistic and beginner-level exploration of the world of writing computer code, I have often wondered: Why is it preferable for one to use a text editor like VI when programming instead of an IDE or vice versa?

Comments

• edited June 2007
    For a beginner it strips away the need to learn how to use a particular IDE. (Assuming you are then given the appropriate instructions to run from a command line or some other simple compiling method.)

Personally, I very much prefer my IDEs as they provide an easier combined environment to work in. Granted I've been using Visual Studios for a few years now and know my way around pretty well. The same goes for many of the other IDEs I've used. I can't stand VI, while I recognize that it's very powerful, being a Windows user I have little need to learn how to use it so it's just frustrating when I do have to use it.

On the other hand when I'm working on HTML or PHP or some such I often times pop open UltraEdit which is the best text editor I've found for Windows. It still offers the syntax highlighting which helps make syntax errors more noticable. It's also very flexible in the editing modes that it offers, the most beneficial of which is column mode editing. It is beyond frustrating that other programs I use on a near day to day basis do not offer column editing.
    Post edited by raquor on
  • edited June 2007
    I've been using VIM for my little scripts, and as I was writing those words just now, I realized the answer to my own question.

One uses VI because of all the shortcuts and commands that make things go faster. Also, text files are easily transferable while IDE save files may not.

The advantage of the IDE, though, is various tools such as highlighting and a helpful little "Run" button at the top can help make debugging easier.

Am I right?