This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

HL2 Mod : Insurgency

Okay, I've been yipping about is game for a few months. I want to share it with all of you because I believe it will distill awesome players out of the CS community. Basically, the game is an objective-based mod in which two teams, divided into squads, attempt to capture points on the map. There are three types of play within the game:

Push: One team attacks while the other defends. Typically the Marines are on the attack and the insurgents defend. The attackers have a limited number of respawns and have to capture all points. Once they cap a point, it cannot be lost to the enemy again. The defenders have infinate reinforcements, but if they don't organize they can loose very quickly. Spawn points shift as objectives are captured.

Battle: Linear-type capture and defend map. Points can be lost and recaptured, but in a linear fashion. For example, if you have points A, B, and C, you can't capture A and then C without getting B first. Spawn points move as objectives are captured. Each team has unlimited reinforcements.

Firefight: This map starts both teams equidistant from three spawn points. Teams can capture any point at any time and have limited respawns. Each time an objective is captured, the capturing team gets more reinforcements. Victory is obtained by either killing off the entire other team or capturing all the points.

There are also classes in the game, but only a few of each per team. This game has very nice texturing and physics, iron-sighting with no crosshairs, leaning, going prone, and is heavy on the teamwork.

I'd go into more detail, but the website does the game more justice than I can. Best part is it's free. Check it out and let me know what you think!

Linkage

Comments

• edited September 2007