This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Newbie XML question

edited November 2007 in Technology
Pardon a simple question... but I've never dealt with XML before.

I have a problem. I am trying to edit an XML file that came with a GPS unit that I own. I can access the file fine, and all I need to do is change a few numbers within the file. (Gives better routings, ETAs, etc.)

So from a complete newb... how do I do this? A search on google suggests that it's not as simple as opening up the file in Notepad and making the changes.

Is there any way to do this without having to install a specialized XML editor?

Thanks!

Comments

• XML is just plain text. Unless they did something funny to it, you should just be able to open it in Notepad, or VIM, or whatever you use.
  • Yes, to edit an XML file all you need is a text editor.
  • Tried it and it worked.

Thanks!
  • edited August 2011
    I also have a newbie XML question:

Here is shortened version of my XML file.

This may seem like a very simple question, but how do I best display this as an html file?
    Post edited by Werther on
  • This may seem like a very simple question, but how do I best display this as an html file?
    The word you are looking for is XSLT.
  • permalinkquote
    Figured it out, thanks.
  • People_who_do_not_use_preview_or_edit_buttons_or_are_just_too_stupid_to_realize_something_is_off.jpg
  • People_who_do_not_use_preview_or_edit_buttons_or_are_just_too_stupid_to_realize_something_is_off.jpg
    My preview looked fine, my post looked stupid. I couldn't be bothered to see what's wrong.

Person_who_has_shit_to_do.jpg
  • Person_who_has_shit_to_do.jpg
    Enough shit to do that you can respond in a timely manner.
    I guess ~35 minutes is timely.
    When I have finished working I have time, yes...