This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

MacBook Pro

edited January 2008 in Technology
I was waiting until the MacWorld conference before I made a decision about getting a Mac, but since the Air is an overpriced sex toy I'm going to get a MacBook Pro. I'm studying Multimedia Design and deal with a lot of Digital video & Imagery in my course, so It's about time I get one of these machines.

As a newbie to Macs, I wanted to ask your opinions on the Pro. Firstly, I'm going to get the 15.4" 2.4GHz model unless you guys reckon the 17" is really worth it - although I don't think my wallet is prepared to stretch that far. Should I go for the "Glossy" or "Matte" display? What's the practical difference between these?

I'm getting my sister to get it while going to the U.S. to do shopping (Europe isn't good enough for her). Are there any compatibility/warranty issues between the U.S. and European models that you know of? I know the power adaptors are fine and the keyboard layout will be different, but that's OK.

Any other Mac related buying tips?

Comments

• just as a suggestion, ever considered a TabletPC? I don't really believe that macs are better for design and multimedia editing, windows based computers are up to par with the Macs, and the pen would make it easier to work with, specially when its something you have to take from place to place
  • Damn I lost my comment! Anyway I was saying that's worth considering; I do want a tablet at some stage. However, I still think Macs are used more or less exclusively in creative environments.