This forum is in permanent archive mode. Our new active community can be found here.

Why Delicious Anything?

edited April 2008 in Everything Else
I've been using Firefox for nearly 3 years now and all the while I've been using its regular bookmarking system. Happily, I organized my bookmarks by folder and used Google browser sync to keep the changes across all my PC's as well as having a recent copy up on Google as a backup of sorts. Like any geek, however, I've looked around at all these social bookmarking tools, most notably, Delicious. Everyone says its the best of them and for a while, I believed that sight unseen. Its seemingly omnipresent logo across websites of all sorts beg you to add that site to your list of favorites, as if that would bring it into the top ten of all websites. And that was proof enough for me, until I tried using it as a replacement for the Firefox bookmarking system via the handy delicious plugin.

Once I restarted Firefox, it happily walked me through importing all of my bookmark into my delicious account and automatically tagged them for me. I went on my happy way browsing the web and I suddenly remembered to check up on prices for FM transmitters. I had bookmarked the site before I installed the delicious plugin, so I expanded the delicious menu an went under tags to find out where it put it.
FM? No. Transmitter? No. Radio? No again.
I opened the sidebar to try and search for it, but the sidebar only searches with tags. I eventually found it, but only by using Firefox's bookmarking system!

Whats the big deal about using delicious as a bookmarking tool? Yes, I understand the ability to access what you've bookmarked online could be a great utility, but for someone who doesn't use that function, whats the point? I know many of you use delicious, so maybe you could clue me in?

Comments